Skip to content

and let us mark the passing of two years with dance!

December 4, 2009

Murasaki BJJ Dec 2009

I’ve kept the same header image for two years. Two years ago I was grappling with my friends Esteban and Brent in the Judojo of the school I was teaching at. One year ago I was in the best training shape ever over in Hakata Paraestra. Now, I’m in the process of recovering from knee surgery. Wonder where I’ll be a year from now?

After being absent for a couple of months, self imposed to concentrate on my recovery, I’ve come to realize just how significant my blog is.

This blog, I notice, is yet another way to express my jiu-jitsu-ness. It helps me to organize my thoughts on jiu-jitsu. It clarifies and catalogues (however badly), filters out things I’d normally be obsessed with. Reminds me of my past deeds, views on certain aspects of the game and of my future goals. Anchors me, keeps me grounded, and notes what is important.

Like jiu-jitsu, it calms the mental mind-storm raging in my brain. And, most especially, it helps me deal with my creative needs. Sure, I took up a new interest in another hobby while recovering from knee surgery. I could express my creative side, but it wasn’t quite the same. Didn’t quench the thirst as much as writing did.

Because it’s a creative channel for me, I’ve decided to take it one step further than just reporting on the events of my training days or pointing out other cool jiu-jitsu related items out there. I’m planning to share my stories of my journey, from it’s crazy beginning to the amazing place I find myself living in now.

I’ll still be taking pictures like a madman and will be moving forward on something that ties all my hobbies and creative juices together. It’s my “merge to form Devastator” project.

To wrap things up: I’ve missed writing in my blog. Probably as much as I’ve missed training. It’s the best and most meaningful way I know in keeping track of my jiu-jitsu adventure.

Happy two years and counting blog of mine!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 4, 2009 12:11 pm

    Yay for more blogging! 😛

  2. December 5, 2009 8:10 am

    Nice one dude! Really pleased that you are back. Just in time! Will I see you at Paraestra in January?!

    Loving the posts, keep em coming. Intrigued by your project, too. You could resurrect Grappling Dummies BJJ TV, I found that very creatively satisfying…

    • December 7, 2009 12:33 pm

      Thanks, and I shall be back in Paraestra though not in gi-fashion. Not yet anyway.

      I am resurrecting Grappling Dummies AND I have another different project all together – when we meet up in January I’ll let you know about it or probably send an email over to you later. This is a big one!

Leave a Reply

