Skip to content

It’s a small, small (jiu-jitsu) world

January 21, 2010

I have a Facebook account.

I hardly spend time on it. I sign in, check my notifications and email, log on to buddypoke, grab my coin-of-the-day and sign out. While I adore my friends and family, this article nicely sums up why I don’t care much for Facebook. Although they need to add a sixth one – I don’t care much for the countless gaming profile updates (need secret incredient! declare mob war!) clogging up my wall. Sigh.

Anyway, I made a new friend on FB. Actually he’s an old friend. I’ve known him for a very long time as we attended the same church back in Hawaii.

Somehow during the course of both our lives, we looked around at the lovely tropical paradise that Hawaii is and thought a change of scenery would be good. So we left. Yea. Him to Alaska, me to Japan. Now that it’s wintertime, I realize how faulty my thinking was. I wonder if he feels the same way.

My old friend – to my great surprise – trains at Gracie Barra. He started in 2005, about the time I was training Judo in my old school’s Judo club. He’s currently a third degree blue and I think he’ll get his purple long before me.

It’s funny. Among all of the people I grew up with in Hawaii, I was the first to start training jiu-jitsu. And it’s absolutely pleasing to learn some of them taking up grappling too. We’ve all gone our separate ways and live in various parts of the world, and it’s astounding to know that the friends I made long ago are linked by a shared past and by jiu-jitsu.

Oh, and Facebook too.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 21, 2010 8:55 pm

    Heh – I love Facebook, but yeah, I was beginning to find those game updates annoying. However, very easy to solve: you just hover your mouse over to the right, until the ‘Hide’ button pops up. Click that, and you have the option to hide all updates from that game. Simples. 😉

    • January 22, 2010 9:31 am

      Sweet! Thanks! Now if certain people wouldn’t leave vague emo status updates or snotty quotes that don’t exactly inspire…

Leave a Reply

